Talking to Grandma About Marijuana

The title of this blog post sounds odd, doesn’t it? Growing up, we’ve been bombarded by public service ads designed to get parents to talk to their kids about drug addiction, but now there is a non-profit out there called The Silver Tour dedicated to educating seniors about medical marijuana use. As we get older/better we become more susceptible to illness and aches, and proponents of cannabis want our elders to know that there are ways to combat the pains associated with aging that don’t involve expensive pills.

I will admit it’s been difficult to watch my parents age. Every time I visit their hair appears grayer and they don’t move around as agilely as they once did. I have to speak up at times so they can understand me, and I should expect to make certain concessions to accommodate their age. We knew this going into life that it ends eventually, but all I’d want for my parents is for them to remain as vital and alert as I remember them. If that means suggesting alternative methods of treatment to improve their life, you know I’m going to bring it up at Sunday dinner!

Now, my parents hold the belief that drugs = bad. The word marijuana conjures images of gun-toting drug runners and slack-jawed stoners who can barely lift a finger to change the channel. Yes, we laugh at the stereotypes and goofy pictures on Tumblr, but we know at the end of the day that marijuana offers healing properties that Big Pharma can’t necessarily duplicate. How do we guide our parents and grandparents past the negative stereotypes to educate them on natural healing? From the time we are children, we have been taught that healing comes in an amber tube and a tight white lid – that’s not necessarily true. If groups like The Silver Tour can reach our older generations and let them know they don’t have to live with pain, perhaps that thought will trickle down to the rest of us. If my parents decided to try medical cannabis I would certainly not be ashamed. I’d be proud to know that my parents keep open minds to alternative healing.

Bobbie Carson

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

